Reflecting on frostedfood

I knew I had passion and an emotional investment in this topic, but boy, how little did I really know about what I was feeling. Over the brief period of this blog’s activity, I learned that this is all way more and too dynamic and complicated than I would have ever expected.

I really thought I could singlehandedly blame so many problems that have to do with food justice and GMO regulation on just one company, on just Monsanto. I realized my problem during my first post, the one where I talk about the history of Monsanto and the artificial sweetener, aspartame. Analyzing the history of this compound was fascinating. Sure, Monsanto was a horrible manipulative force that ensured its product on the market through deceitful tactics, but the U.S. government and it’s own corruption enabled it to do so. Monsanto would have been crushed at its attempts, or at least halted a little more with a solid government and Food and Drug administration.

Through this realization, a vast array of social justice issues I was not initially expecting to focus on came into interest. I was able to make the same connections as a did for aspartame: the people, the product, the business, and the government. All connected into one big, corrupt, and deceitful cycle. One that, with my proposal, may not be able to be stopped but possibly regulated.

Through this blog, my interest only skyrocketed in this topic. I know this is something I will continue to do research in, and (hopefully) pursue my college studies in.

Leave a Reply

